Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read If You Like These Popular Books/Authors

Welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday, as hosted by the lovely people over at The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is all about those popular books and authors that we all know and love (or don’t love) and some book recommendations to go along with those books/authors. So, here are books you might like if you like these popular books/authors:

  1. The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green – Everyone and their mother has probably heard of this book by now. It was hugely popular for years, especially last year when the movie came out, so here’s my recs for something that’s similar, heart-wrenching, romantic, and awesome:
    1. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight” by Jennifer E. Smith – This title is forever long, but it was a cute contemporary with star-crossed lovers who, against many odds, ended up meeting and coming together.
  2. Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda” by Becky Albertalli – This book went wildly popular when ti was released earlier this year and I think that it was rightly so. And sticking on the theme of diversity, you might like these books if you like Simon:
    1. None of the Above” by I.W. Gregorio – This book is all about a girl who is intersex and doesn’t know it until after a painful first sexual encounter with her boyfriend. It opens your eyes to a world of people who have this condition and how many handle it.
    2. My Heart and Other Black Holes” by Jasmine Warga – A trigger warning of suicide, this book deals with mental illness and how two teens make an agreement to commit suicide together on the same day, but can they go through with it?
  3. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare – Everyone and their mother knows about this series, too, right? Well, it’s an urban fantasy story with Shadowhunters, demons, warlocks, and a fight between good and evil.
    1. The Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews – This is an adult urban fantasy series, and it’s similar in that there is magic in the world that we know, but the circumstances and location are entirely different.
    2. Stardust” by Neil Gaiman – Though this is more on the magical side than the others, there are still elements of real world understanding and happenstance that take place in this book and I think it’d be a great read for someone who enjoys subtleties and more plot.
  4. Shatter Me” by Tahereh Mafi – This is a trilogy that gets better with each book, and definite character growth takes place in it. What I recommend is:
    1. The House of the Scorpion” by Nancy Farmer – This is one of my favorite all time books because not only did it introduce more mature themes at a younger age for me, but the story was different and rich, the characters were empowering and strong as time went on, and the world building was great.

Now those are really all the ones I can think of at the moment that I can recommend and all that.

Have you read any of these books? What were your thoughts? Let me know!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books to Read If You Like These Popular Books/Authors

  1. Pingback: September 2015 Wrap-Up | Reader Rayna

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s